top of page

Bactrians vs. Huns, 7500p MeG - battle report

This battle was very special to me. After a few years of development of wargaming community, our local store was forced to be closed. And this battle was farewell to this very special place - Warband store in Poznan. To honor this I used a unique theme editing the photos as it was far from a cheerful occassion.



My army was a pretty standard roster of 3 TuGs of spearmen, including phalanx unit, 1 TuG of light Indian Infantry, TuG of elephants and 5 TuGs of shock cavalry, including cataphracts. All supported by 2 SuGs of light cavalry and cretan archers.


Huns deployed purely cavalry force (no surprise), with 2 SuGs only and 3 TuGs of noble cavalry, the rest being regular hun cavalry force. Nimble, difficult opponent for sure.


Deployment


I massed 3 best TuGs of my shock cavalry on my right wing to push forward. Center was supposed to be a distraction only with supporting arrows from cretans. My left wing with spearmen placed little behind the main line had a defensive task until situation on my right is clarified.


Turn 1


My right wing cavalry moved as much forward as it was possible. My opponent decided to not fall behind and moved in the range of their arrows, leaving enough place behind him to slowly move back when necessary.


On the left as merely made my battle line even awaiting for the enemy who pushed forward, not as much as could have though.


Turn 2


And here come charging lancers! Despite volley of arrows slowing my forces down, Huns failed to to move backwards enough (push through fire on my side was essential here). To catch Huns isn't minor feat but they are not defeated yet...


And above is the result of all charge round and melee round. The situation has not developed in my favor. Especially since I failed to protect flank of my charging force - grave mistake I noticed too late...


... and could not make up for it due to terrible command cards on my center placed general...


At the same time the left wing made a few micromoves. One SuG of Huns already routed, but the real fight will only come later.


Turn 3


Here is right wing situation - or rather what has left of forces I placed here. Xystophoroi did thei job pretty well, but they will have a hard time to return and finish the job. The good thing was that elite Hung unit was only 1 wound from break. My Bactrians light horse surely can finish the job, don't they?


On my left Charging lancers hold on superior enemy force allowing for my spearmen to flank them. Course of the battle has not being decided yet, since both sides suffered similar level of losses.


Turn 4


Here is the situation on the battlefield at the beginning of this turn...

... and here is the stuation at the end of this turn.


Unfortunately for me I lost already all my fast moving forces except for 2 units, which will not be enough to catch Huns. Although 1 wound from a total collapse of their army, Huns survived 3 attempts to finish them off and were able, after a serie of a very smart moves, catch my Xystophoroi from behind, routing them as a result and ending the battle.

Then I had 1 last, that is fourth in total, chance to break Huns which would result in a draw at least. But 2 black dice didn't work this time ;)

Very bloody battle, with lots of moves and countermoves. A few mistakes from both sides, but clearly Huns were in a better position to exploit them to their advantage.


Final result: 15:10 for Hun army.

bottom of page