top of page

Late Romans+Parthians vs Bactrians, MeG battle report, 7500 Magna

Another encounter between for domination over steppe. This time enemy brought more infantry than before. And Greeks from Bactria deployed more cavalry than ever. A few exciting moments in the battle and even match till the end.




My roster:


5 TuGs of shock cavalry but Iranians with no Melee Expert, so prolonged fight is not in their favor. On the other hand - as enemy cataphracts were expected, against them Melee Expert wouldn't work any way. The idea behind this roster is to go for a swift charge and hope for shatter effect maintaining the defensive capability at the same time.


Late Romans had:

4 TuGs of Legionaries (1 Superior), 1x Roman cavalry, 2x Cataphracts (1 Superior), 5 SuGs of horse archers, 1x infantry SuG with javelins.


For both armies it was convinient to avoid terrain features so we ended up with mostly empty table except for some rocky ground on a flank. I was outscouted by 30% which was not surprising - and not terrible either. 30% simply means I deploy as normal, only as the first player.


Here is the overall view on the battlefield during after forces are deployed. I spread my forces too much a bit, but that is the disadvanage of being outscouted. My elephants and 2x Iranians got a task to hold on enemy Cataphracts (both units). I considered it a more problematic flank for me so...


... my main shock force was on the right. 6 files of charging lancers and devastating chargers facing roman infantry. A close call for sure, but if I am about to break enemy line it has to be here. Also on my right were light infantry and light cavalry to cover the flank.



Parthian Cataphracts and skilled horse archers - the main threat for my army

Round 1

My infantry center was never more puny than this time. On the other hand - it was facing horse archers only and had fairly close to enemy cavalry which certainly prefers to avoid pointy sticks of phalanx.



Romans double moved forward so I had no other choice but to meet them with my lancers. All my cavalry prepared to hit an enemy the next round. So far it seems it can be a very quick victory - for either side. My left flank made some micromoves only to manifest its presence but no immediate action.


Round 2

Here comes a charge and it was a total disasyer for me. Out of 6 rolls, not a single S or Skull, so no Shatter... I dealt 2 single wounds only and received 8! Indians and Bactrian lighthorse protect the flank but soon the may have no one to protect.



Situation on my left develops very slowly. And now I am even less eager to push forward, but what else can I do? Cretans make a suicidal move to cover pikes in their plan to support lef wing which may expose them to a flank charge.


Here is the result of left wing maneuvers. Elephants have the option for a flank charge at Cataphracts, if only they can hold the volleys of Parthian lights. My Iranians and phalanx set a trap for enemy Royal Cataphracts, which is too obvious so may not work... but if I can delay them coming into action it is good enough for me.



After melee on the right things got so much brighter! Shove makes a difference (Cataphracts are generally better in melee than when charging which feels kind of weird...). Romans scored some hits but suffered major losses, 1 TuG ran away and another is near break point. Now Indians from flank protectors may change into chargers.


Round 3



Here comes the situation in the battlefield after charges. My opponent clearly is thinking about some cunning move ;) It went pretty good for Parthians. Elephants slowed down due to arrows and I had no 'yellow' to push them through fire. Royal Cataphracts caught a bait but I know it was well considered. The next round will be active for Parthians and their Roman cavalry detachment may cross the field and charge my units flank (as marked with the arrows)


What was not considered that my Thureophoroi from the center were able to intercept Roman cavalry, so my phalanx went to make a Parthian armoured kebab!


The lef wing after bloody fighting. My Elephants, Bactrian lighthorse and 1 TuG or Iranians are gone, either pierced by arrows or scattered by Cataphract charge. At the same time Royal Cataphracts were destroyed by phalangites.


On the right Cataphracts smashed through Roman lines, turned back (which of course takes 1 round) and attacked remaining Legionaries from rear. They had no chance to hold the charge - the game is over, Bactrians are victorious.


The End Result: 15:7


The captured Roman General asked in captivity for tools to scribe his story of the battle. The wish was granted:


"After seeing the cataphracts in action during the previous battle, Romans wanted to repeat the success and took some Armenian allies against Bactria. Unfortunately things didn't go exactly the way they desired... Legions, after last battle, where they couldn't really prove themselves, were bloodthirsty, so they went full forward against the enemy cavalry. In initial charge Roman fangs went deeply, drawing much blood from the elite cavalry while receiving one or two in return. But then their impetus waned and they finally got crushed under the hooves of the tough Bactrian cataphracts. The left flank was lost. Unfortunately Armenians on the right flank also did not use their full potential and while one cataphract unit ran smoothly over the Iranian lancers, the other (much better - superiors with general) got stuck and were punctured in consecutive turns by Bactrian pikes, who managed to support their friends. Allied horse archers made some nice shooting, but it was not enough to tip the scales in Roman-Armenian favour. Battle ended too early..."









bottom of page